Keynote Speakers

Professor Claire J. Carmalt

University College London

Inorganic Chemistry

Claire Carmalt was the first woman to be appointed as the head of the Department of Chemistry at UCL. She was awarded her PhD from the University of Newcastle with Dr. Nick Norman. She moved to the USA for postdoctoral work at the University of Texas at Austin working with Professors Alan Cowley and Mike White. Her experiences there stimulated her interest in materials chemistry. She then moved to University College London with a Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship and after became a professor in 2009. She has been awarded the RSC 2000 Meldola Medal and Prize for her important work in the area of materials chemistry. Her innovative research is based on the application of organometallic chemistry in materials deposition and the developing of new routes to inorganic materials via chemical vapour deposition (CVD).

Professor Andrew Goodwin

University of Oxford

Advanced Functional Materials

Professor Andrew Goodwin obtained his BSc in Chemistry and Pure Mathematics and his first PhD in Inorganic Chemistry from the University of Sydney – the latter working with Professor Cameron Kepert on negative thermal expansion behaviour in materials. He then moved to the U.K., obtaining a second PhD in Mineral Physics from the University of Cambridge, working on powder diffraction with Professor Martin Dove.

Andrew was elected as a Junior Research Fellow in Materials Science at Trinity College, Cambridge in 2004 and was the recipient of an EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellowship in 2008. He then moved to the University of Oxford in 2009 as an Associate Professor of Inorganic Chemistry and was appointed as a Professor of Materials Chemistry in 2014. He has received many awards over his career, including the Marlow and Harrison-Meldola Medals of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2010 and 2013 respectively and the New York Academy of Sciences ‘Future Leader’ Award in 2013. His research interests include the investigation of structural flexibility and disorder in functional materials.

Professor Robert Tooze

Sasol UK Ltd

Homogeneous and Heterogeneous Catalysis

Following a PhD in Chemistry from Imperial College London under the supervision of Nobel Laureate, Professor Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson Bob joined ICI and has subsequently worked in the chemical industry for over 30 years.  This career has spanned various businesses and locations but always in R&D. He joined Sasol Technology UK in 2002 and was made Managing Director in 2004. Following a reorganization in 2016 he is now Senior Manager, Sasol UK Ltd.

He is currently Chair of Chemical Sciences Scotland, sits on the Scottish Industrial Biotechnology Development Group, the Energy Technology Partnership Advisory Group and has served on the Scottish Science Advisory Council, Scotland’s highest level science advisory body, which provides independent advice and recommendations on science strategy, policy and priorities to the Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland (CSA) and thus to the Scottish Government.

He has wide experience of collaborative research having chaired the Industrial Board of a network of 40 of the leading Catalysis Laboratories in Europe and also currently chairs the Industrial Advisory Panel of the UK Catalysis Hub. Bob holds an honorary Professorship in Chemistry at the University of St Andrews giving lecture courses in the field of catalysis. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2013.

Professor Piet van Leeuwen

Institut National des sciences appliquées -Toulouse 

Nanostructures and organometallic chemistry

Piet van Leeuwen has been an active leader in the field of catalysis across Europe and South America. His most important areas of expertise are homogeneous catalysis, ligand design, applied catalysis, supramolecular and nanoparticle catalysis, as well as catalyst immobilization.

He worked at Shell for 26 years in the USA and the Netherlands, which provided him with very good knowledge and expertise in homogeneous catalysis and coordination chemistry. He has been the director of more than 48 PhD theses, authored over 400 publications and edited several books. His average number of citations per publication is 50. He has contributed to the new concepts of host-guest catalysis, dendrimer catalysis, wide bite-angles effects and in-situ spectroscopy.